Guide to the Festival

The Frameline Award

The 2007 Frameline Award will be presented this year to ANDREA SPERLING at 7:30pm on June 24 at the CASTRO THEATRE on the occasion of Frameline31's closing night screening of Itty Bitty Titty Committee. Please join us in celebrating this revolutionary producer.

Established in 1986, the Frameline Award is given every year to a person or entity that has made a major contribution to LGBT representation in film, television, or the media arts. Past honorees range from film historian and author Vito Russo, to Hong Kong director Stanley Kwan, avant-garde lesbian filmmaker Barbara Hammer, drag artiste extraordinaire Divine, producer Christine Vachon, and producer/distributor Marcus Hu.

The Michael J. Berg Documentary Award

To recognize excellence in documentary filmmaking, Frameline is proud to offer The Michael J. Berg Documentary Award, a $10,000 juried award for an outstanding documentary each year during the festival.

This year’s eligible documentaries:
2 Mums and a Dad
Alexis Arquette: She’s My Brother
Black White + Gray
Born Again
Fall From Grace
The Fall of '55
Free Havana
Gender Redesigner
Girl Inside
The Godfather of Disco
In Trust and Love
Kate Clinton: 25th Anniversary Tour
Laughing Matters...The Men
Lesbian Pulp-O-Rama Goes to Sweden!
Love Man Love Woman
Motherfucker: A Movie
On the Downlow
Queer Streets
Red Without Blue
Semper Fi, One Marine's Journey
Sex Change Hospital
Through Thick and Thin
Two Homelands Cuba and the Night
Water Flowing Together

The Frameline First Feature Award

Generously funded by the support of Frameline's Changing the World, One Movie at a Time campaign, this $10,000 juried award is presented to the outstanding first narrative feature premiering at the festival.

This year’s eligible first features:
The Curiosity of Chance
The Doctor’s Daughter, or The Secret and the Lie
Finn's Girl
Holding Trevor
Nina’s Heavenly Delights
No Regret
Rock Haven
Tan Lines
This Kiss
Vampire Diary
You Belong To Me

The Frameline Festival Audience Awards

Since 1984 our festival audience has been responsible for selecting the Best Feature Film, Best Documentary Film and Best Short Film of the Festival. Each award has a $2,500 cash award attached.

Film / Event Schedule

        14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23

Browse Films