Guide to the Festival

The Frameline34 AT&T Audience Awards

Since 1984 our festival audience has been responsible for selecting the Best Feature Film, Best Documentary Film and Best Short Film of the Festival. Putting the power in the audience's hands, the Frameline34 AT&T Audience Awards offer cash prizes to the favorite Feature ($2000), Documentary ($2000) and Short ($1000) in the festival. Audience members will be able to vote via text message from any text-enabled mobile device.

If you love a film, simply text the film's voting code to 55333 within six hours of the start of the screening. To find the film's voting code, look on-screen after the show, check out the film's Frameline34 description page, download the Frameline34 iPhone App, or ask a staff member or a volunteer. And remember you get just one vote per film per mobile device. Standard messaging rates may apply.

Click here to download a list of all text voting codes at Frameline34.

Frameline's Juried Awards

Frameline has a long history of supporting outstanding films and filmmakers, and to honor that tradition, we're bringing back our juried awards for First Feature and Best Documentary for Frameline34!

The Frameline Award

Established in 1986, the Frameline Award is given every year to a person or entity that has made a major contribution to LGBT representation in film, television, or the media arts. Past honorees range from film historian and author Vito Russo, to Hong Kong director Stanley Kwan, avant-garde lesbian filmmaker Barbara Hammer, drag artiste extraordinaire Divine, producer Christine Vachon, long-time leader of the Festival and the organization Michael Lumpkin, and producer/distributor Marcus Hu.

This year, Frameline's Board and Staff are proud to present the Frameline Award to Wolfe Video's Kathy Wolfe and Maria Lynn.

When founder Kathy Wolfe describes the origins of Wolfe Video, she credits an early Frameline screening of the landmark documentary Word Is Out as her catalyst. The message she took out of the theatre that night — about being out and proud and actively working to improve lesbian and gay lives — resulted in the birth of Wolfe Video.

From that beginning twenty-five years ago, Wolfe has evolved into the largest exclusive distributor of gay and lesbian films. The company's films are now reaching viewers via film festivals, theatrical and non-theatrical releasing, broadcast, DVD, and digital delivery.

Launched in 1985 on the eve of the "Gay New Wave," which included the theatrical releases of classics like Desert Hearts and Parting Glances, this Northern California company began by producing short lesbian videos. When Maria Lynn, Wolfe's current President, came aboard, her extraordinary business sense paved the way for the team's skyrocketing success. They company's first big break came from the support of Lily Tomlin, who chose Wolfe to distribute her entire catalog of performance works. With Tomlin's films, Wolfe built a loyal customer base for their mail order distribution business.

Wolfe's popular library of titles includes award-winning Frameline favorites like Big Eden, Claire of the Moon, Loving Annabelle, Were The World Mine, Itty bitty Titty Committee, and Brother To Brother. This tradition of excellence continues this year with the stunning Peruvian feature and Centerpiece Film for Frameline34 titled Undertow (Contracorriente), one of Wolfe's newest acquisitions among hundreds of other features, documentaries and shorts.

Like Frameline, Wolfe was founded with the conviction that LGBT film deserves a larger audience and that the LGBT community deserves a wide array of cinematic representation. For all that Kathy Wolfe, Maria Lynn and the staff at Wolfe have done to shape and advance the LGBT cinematic landscape over the past quarter century, we are proud to honor Wolfe with this year's Frameline Award.

Film / Event Schedule

        17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26

Browse Films