For Immediate Release

Media contact:
Larsen Associates—Karen Larsen
415.957.1205 or
(Number not to be published.)

San Francisco, CA—Frameline31, the San Francisco International LGBT Film Festival, the world’s largest and oldest queer film fest, will screen from June 14–24, 2007. Frameline is proud to present the 2007 Frameline Award to LA-based independent producer Andrea Sperling. Sperling has produced more than 17 feature films, including Itty Bitty Titty Committee (this year’s Closing Night Film), D.E.B.S., But I’m a Cheerleader, Prozac Nation and four films by previous Frameline Award winner Gregg Araki (including The Living End and The Doom Generation). Always willing to take chances and a firm believer in bringing risky, artistic and thoroughly enjoyable films into the world, Andrea is a force to be reckoned with in the independent film community.

Sperling sits on the Board of Directors for the Professional Organization of Women in Entertainment Reaching Up (POWERUP!) and has been profiled in The New York Times, The Village Voice, Art Forum, Paper Magazine, The Hollywood Reporter, Detour magazine, The Advocate, IndieWire, AIVF, Filmmaker Magazine and on the Sundance Channel.

In June 2005, the Vienna Film Festival honored Sperling with a career retrospective. In 2004, she received the Wolfe Career Achievement Award at the Miami Gay and Lesbian Film Festival, and that same year, POWER UP! named her one of the Ten Most Amazing Women in Hollywood. Sperling has been nominated twice by the Independent Feature Project West for a Spirit Award in Producing Achievement: once in 1993, when she took home the award, and again in 1999.

Sperling is a valued asset and rock star of the independent and queer film communities and stands as an example for what dedication and enthusiasm can do in the world.

The Frameline Award will this year be presented to Sperling at 7:30pm on Sunday, June 24 at the Castro Theatre on the occasion of Frameline31’s Closing Night screening of Itty Bitty Titty Committee. Please join us in celebrating this revolutionary producer.

French filmmaker extraordinaire François Ozon received the 2006 Frameline Award for his outstanding cinematic contributions including Criminal Lovers, Swimming Pool and Time to Leave. Prior recipients of the annual Frameline Award include Isaac Julien, Peter Adair, the directing/producing duo Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato, Marcus Hu, Stanley Kwan, Marlon Riggs and Christine Vachon.

Frameline31: The San Francisco International LGBT Film Festival, screening June 14-24, 2007 at the Castro Theatre (429 Castro Street), Roxie Film Center (3117 16th Street) and the Victoria Theatre (2961 16th Street) in San Francisco and the Parkway Theater (1834 Park Boulevard) in Oakland.

Advance tickets go on sale May 25 at the Frameline Box Office located inside Superstar Satellite, 474 Castro Street (between Market and 18th). Box Office hours are 1:00 pm to 8:00 pm daily beginning Friday, May 25 (for Frameline members) and Friday, June 1 (for general public). Tickets are also available online ( and by fax (415-522-5543). Unless otherwise noted, tickets are $10 general, $9 members; and $8 general, $7 members for matinee screenings, starting at 5:00 pm or earlier. Castro Passes, good for admission to all screenings at the Castro Theatre other than Opening Night and Closing Night, are available for $200. Weekday Matinee Passes, good for admission to all weekday matinee screenings at the Castro Theatre starting at 5pm or earlier, are available for $35. For more information, visit

The San Francisco International LGBT Film Festival is presented by Frameline, a nonprofit LGBT organization whose mission is to strengthen the diverse lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and further its visibility by supporting and promoting a broad array of cultural representations and artistic expression in film, video and other media arts.

Film / Event Schedule

        14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23

Browse Films